Meeting Minutes: June 21, 2022

Created with Sketch.

Meeting Minutes: June 21, 2022

Council called to order by Mayor Amy Joseph, Tuesday, June 21, 2022

at 7:30 pm.

Invocation –    Ron Searight

Pledge of Allegiance

Those present:  Ron Searight,  Luke Stephenson,  Mary Beougher,  Chris Heitkamp.    Jessica Yoder and Brad Now- absent

Also attending:   Srgt Stetler,  Robbie Peel , Bret Peel, Marge Gehle,

and Erin G of the Daily Standard.

Motion Searight.  Second Beougher  to accept the agenda as orders of the day.     

Stephenson called for the question.  Searight = y, Beougher = y, Stephenson = y, Heitkamp = y,  Passed 4 yes.

Motion Stephenson.  Second Searight to accept the minutes from the June 7, 2021  council meeting as presented.        Heitkamp called for the question.      Stephenson = y, Searight = y, Heitkamp = y, Beougher = y.  Passed 4 yes.

Visitors to Address Council:

Mayor’s Report and Correspondence: 

Thank you to the many generous sponsorships and donations that came in to support an awesome 2022 Rockford Community Days / Art Festival ! 

Thank you to the Community for coming out to Celebrate Rockford!

We had beautiful weather for a successful weekend !

Happy 202nd Birthday Rockford — today officially 😊

Mayor noted receipt and review of Mayors Court pay in

and bank statement.

Community Announcements and events:

June 23 – Office closed part day for online training.

July 4 – Independence Day – Village office closed

 July 5th –Budget Hearing – 7 pm – Village Hall

August 1st – Budget Commission hearing – Court House – 11 am.

Village Administrator’s Report – Aaron Temple  –

Blair and Joe taking water and wastewater testing.  Should have results in a week or so.    

Buckeye Street has been resurfaced and looks nice. 

For the next several weeks, vacations have been scheduled and this will slow down some of the projects for a while. 

Received quote on the liability insurance – reviewing list of equipment and adding cyber security but minimal increase in the premium.

Finance committee approved the resurface project at the Community building and the walk path.   Not going to get any cheaper any time soon. 

Brought to our attention that the warning signal at the Fire Station belongs to the Village and needs some repairs or replaced.     Will be getting more information.

WWTP – 3 week update – controlling odors for the most part.  The new process seems to be working and odors not lingering as they once did.  

Meeting scheduled for July to discuss the Water Tower Project — looking like bids will be delayed until October.   Would mean most of the work would be next Spring.

Sidewalk to subdivision — back at it after vacations.

Committee Reports

Finance Committee:   Ron SearightPresident

Motion Stephenson.  Second Beougher to pay the bills as presented – $ 69,572.25

Heitkamp called for the question.  Stephenson = y, Beougher = y, Heitkamp = y, Searight = y.  Passed 4 yes.

Motion Stephenson to accept the Mayors Court pay in $ 413.  Second Beougher.  Heitkamp called for the question.  Stephenson = y, Beougher = y, Heitkamp = y, Searight = y.  Passed 4 yes.

Finance meeting was held on June 14 at 7 pm.  Discussed – Budget 2023.  Increased expenses by percentage we feel comfortable with in these times.  If no further discussions – Budget hearing and approval at the next meeting to be held on July 5th. 

Budget Hearing –   July 5th – 7:00 pm

Service Committee:   Mary Beougher

Kudos for the 4-way stop sidewalk improvement – Thank you.  Looks very nice and much improved.

Thanks for the street cleaning before Community Days – did a good job.

Safety Committee:     Chris Heitkamp

Street light at Pearl and East street not working.     There is also a large bush on the corner that needs trimmed —  is impairing the line of sight.

Economic Development Committee:  Brad Now – absent report by Ron Searight

Shanes Crossing Subdivision – 5 Lots left for sale – contact Tammy Cheek with Homes at Ohio’s Edge Realty.        . 

Business Park updates –  

WRKD updates –   The station is thankful to our volunteers —

Kyle Feasby, Mary McCoy and Taylor Feasby – who have been on air with  The Control Room show on Saturdays for the past 5 years.  The station would like to give them a gratuity of $15 per show retroactive to beginning of the year and going forward.    Thank you – we appreciate you !

The DORA application has been approved by the Village Council and sent to the State for review.    May take a couple of weeks to hear an updates that need to be done.

Public Utilities Committee:   Luke Stephenson –   

We are getting quotes for GAS aggregation.  Will know more July/August on rating. 

If residents are interested they can still sign up for the ELECTRIC aggregation.   The rates are $.0477 until May 2024.   Please make sure you are not already in a contract with another company.  If not, contact Valerie with Palmer Energy at 419-491-1040 and she will help you get switched to Energy Harber as your supplier.

Rules Committee:    Jessica Yoder absent report by Ron Searight



1st reading – 06/21/2022

Old Business:

New Business:

Searight brought up several items – 

Fire hydrant improvements

East South Street to Main Street – Tree with limbs impairing the line of sight.  

Over last 2 -3 weeks have received thanks to the council for working to get the village cleaned up.  We have seen some improvements but more is needed.  We will keep pursuing the goal.   

Questions on the Property maintenance rules – wanting to increase the number of days with which to come in to compliance because of mailing issues.  

Temple – with longer compliance time the more it will cost the home owner to have the property maintenance done.    By the time the letter is mailed there is already an obvious problem with the property. 

Letters have been mailed this year to those frequent flyers — may not be mailing any more this year.    Will email the current letter and work on any needed updates.

Searight feels that 10 days is significant time for mail and compliance and eliminate the excuses.

Meeting adjourned   8:00   pm   

_________________________                      _________________________

Mayor                                                              Fiscal officer