Admin and Council Meetings

Created with Sketch.

Mayor’s Welcome to the Village of Rockford


As Mayor, on behalf of the Council of the Village of Rockford, it is my pleasure to welcome you to our website. I trust you will find it both interesting and informative.

Established as Shanes Crossing in 1820 and incorporated as Shanesville in 1866 at the historic St. Marys River Crossing, our name was changed to Rockford in 1890, we are the oldest incorporated village in Mercer County.

Our community boasts a growing business district, fine schools, park facilities, historical museum, and a Carnegie Library. We take great pride in our public service to our community and we strive to promote Rockford while working hard for the betterment of people who live and work here. We are working with our department heads and employees to meet the needs of our community, both now and in the future.

One of Rockford’s greatest assets is its people. There is a true sense of community in our Village. We work closely with our residents, businesses, and community organizations to promote the many services, activities, and benefits of Rockford.

Amy Joseph, Mayor, Council Meetings
Rockford, Ohio Mayor Amy Joseph

We are proud of our village and what it has to offer. I hope you will enjoy learning more about us as you explore this website.


     Amy Joseph, Mayor

2022 Rockford Village Council

Council Meeting Schedule

Council Meetings are the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month at 7:30 pm at The Village Hall.

The Village Hall
151 East Columbia Street
Rockford, Ohio 45882

Phone: (419) 363-3032 ext 1
Fax: (419) 363-2395

Council Members

Marcas Heitkamp

Ron Searight

Luke Stephenson

Mary Beougher

Rick Shindeldecker

Chris Heitkamp


  • Aaron Temple – Village Administrator
  • Blair Shaffer – Water and Sewer Supervisor
  • Lisa Kuhn – Village Clerk – Taxes and Utilities
  • Joe Roth – Water and Sewer assistant / Maintenance

Rick Shindeldecker replaced Brad Now – September 2022
Marcas Heitkamp replaced Jessica Yoder – November 2022