Meeting Minutes: January 3, 2023

Created with Sketch.

Meeting Minutes: January 3, 2023

Council called to order by Mayor – Amy Joseph on January 3, 2023

at 7:30 pm.

Invocation –    Ron Searight

Pledge of Allegiance

Those present:   Marcas Heitkamp, Ron Searight, Luke Stephenson, Mary Beougher, Rick Shindeldecker, Chris Heitkamp.    

Also attending:   Kathy Taylor, Kristi Schaefer, Robbie Peel, Marge Gehle,

Srgt Stetler, and Erin G of the Daily Standard.

Motion Searight.  Second Stephenson to accept the agenda as orders of the day

Beougher called for the question.  Searight = y, Stephenson = y, Beougher = y, M Heitkamp = y, Shindeldecker = y, Heitkamp = y.  Passes 6 yes.

Motion Shindeldecker  Second Searight to accept the minutes from the December 6, 2022 council meeting as presented.  Heitkamp called for the question.  Shindeldecker = y, Searight = y, Heitkamp = y, M Heitkamp = y, Stephenson = y, Beougher =  y.  Passed 6 yes.

Visitors to Address Council:

Kathy Taylor – appreciates time of each member serving on council.  Discussed concerns regarding pricing of park rentals.  Started back in history about how the funds were donated and the community coming together to build a community building for the park.   Very nice park and a lot of people enjoy coming here.  If the rental prices are unaffordable then the buildings won’t be rented.   If funds are needed why not do fundraisers?     Thanks for time and hope council will consider changing the rates.

Joseph – The building was rented previously in hourly increments that ended up getting abused, therefore the rent was adjusted for a daily rate.

Taylor – other concerns regarding who is responsible for snow removal on sidewalks in the business area.  

Temple — It is the responsibility of the business owner to clean the sidewalks.  

Mayor’s Report and Correspondence: 

Assignments of Council committees for 2023

Nominations for 2023 Council President –  Nominations for Ron Searight and Luke Stephenson.      The vote – M Heitkamp = Searight, Searight = Stephenson , Stephenson = Searight, Beougher = y Searight, Shindeldecker = Searight, Heitkamp =  Searight.   

Motion to appoint Ron Searight as 2023 Council President  – Motion Shindeldecker. Second Beougher.  Stephenson called for the question.   Shindeldecker = y, Beougher = y, Stephenson = y, M Heitkamp = y, Searight – abstain, Heitkamp = y.  Passed 5 yes.   Congratulations Ron !

Thank you to the many volunteers who helped light up the park for Christmas.  A very special THANK YOU to Santa, Mrs. Claus and the Grinch for taking time to stop by the park.   Thanks to Rockford Carnegie Library for sponsoring the Grinch, Christmas craft and snacks.  Thank you to Parkway Teachers Association for hot chocolate and cookies…. 

•           Need  volunteers to take down the lights  – TBD

Thank you to the many donations for the Angel Tree program – the community served 28 families and 111 children.

Thank you to many donations for the Adopt a Grandparent program – the community served all residents at Tranquility Nursing Center, Divine ReHab at Shane Hill and those living at Maplewood Assisted living.  Thank you to the Parkway Elementary spare change drive.  We were able to donated larger items to the activity areas for all residents.

Community Announcements and events:

January 16th – Village office closed –     Martin Luther King Jr. Day                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Dog Tags available at the Village office until January 31st – 4 pm.

Village Administrator’s Report – Aaron Temple  –

Good job and much credit to Blair and Joe working over the holiday weekend with snow removal and helping residents with water issues. 

It’s official – the last lot in the subdivision Phase 1 had sold.  We are working with engineering to move forward with the next 7 lots.  Have a meeting schedule to discuss subdivision and Franklin Street.

Condemned buildings –  working to get the utilities disconnected.   There is a 4th property that we have contacted the owners and they are planned to take care of their own property by mid summer.

We are continuing to work on listing our equipment. 

Discussed Pearl Street trees – have received a couple of quotes for council review.  Should make a decision so we can lock in the rates if we are moving forward – 16 – 18 trees to be trimmed.

Regarding cold weather — waterline breaks.  Wondering about our responsibilities of going into homes and businesses.   Village responsibility ends at the meter so we should not be entering homes — residents will need to call a plumber or whatever professional is needed to fix the problem.   This is a safety issue for our employees.

Committee Reports

Finance Committee:   Ron SearightPresident

Motion Shindeldecker to approve the bills from 12/15/2022 and 12/22/2022 – finals bills paid for the year.  Second Stephenson.  Heitkamp called for the question.   Shindeldecker = y, Shindeldecker = y, Heitkamp = y, M Heitkamp = y, Searight = y, Beougher = y.  Passed 6 yes.

Motion Stephenson to approve 2023 purchase orders and blanket certificates.  Second Shindeldecker.  Heitkamp called for the question.   Stephenson = y,  Shindeldecker = y, Heitkamp = y, M Heitkamp = y, Searight = y, Beougher = y.  Passed 6 yes.

Finance committee scheduled a meeting – January 11th at 7 pm

Service Committee:   Mary Beougher

Reporting on parking concerns along the street near JAL Leasing – very close to the roadway, which is not safe.   Aaron will look at the maps – if they are near the right of way they will need to move farther off the street.

Safety Committee:     Chris Heitkamp

Economic Development Committee:  Rick Shindeldecker –

Shanes Crossing Subdivision –  – ALL SOLD  –  Phase 1 !   Look forward to more expansion and news regarding the next 7 lots.

Public Utilities Committee:   Luke Stephenson –   

Motion Searight to approve WRKD – 2023 Board Members –

Chris Rasbach, Todd Henkle, Kyle Feasby and Luke Stephenson.  Second Shindeldecker.  Heitkamp called for the question.  Searight = y, Shindeldecker = y, Heitkamp = y, M Heitkamp = y, Stephenson = y, Beougher = y.  Passed 6 yes.

Thank you for a job well done.

Rules Committee:    Marcas Heitkamp

Will be sending committee new information to review for the next meeting.

Old Business:

New Business:

2023 is an Election Year —   Mayor and 2 council seats.    If interested pick up petitions at the Board of Election with information on how to file to be on the ballot in November.     Need to check deadline date –  usually first week of August.

Meeting adjourned   8:06   pm 

_________________________                      _________________________

Mayor                                                              Fiscal officer